Gentle Stretch


This class is taught by:

Christine Beckelman

Christine, the co-creator of Yoga M.A.T.T., has been practicing various types of yoga for over 10 years. She completed her 200 hour training certification at Om Yoga in New York City. Her certification is recognized through Yoga Alliance. She also completed a 60 hour Yin Yoga teacher training program with Corrina Brenner, owner of Wake up Yoga, in New York. Her interest in yoga developed out of a desire to gain strength and flexibility. However, she quickly discovered the benefits of yoga were much deeper than a physical practice.  She enjoys teaching various types of classes and incorporates a variety of deep stretches in all of her class types. Her classes strongly focus on proper alignment and form.
Christine enjoys an active lifestyle that includes weight lifting, running and tennis. As a result, her classes are a blend of movement that create flexibility, strength and core awareness. 
 
Her vision for Yoga M.A.T.T. was to create a studio that integrates both functional training, yoga and massage.  She strongly believes that this fusion based training is what allows clients of all ages to live and maintain a healthy and active lifestyle.  
 
Christine is also certified in TRX Group Training through Fitness Anywhere and Kettlebell certified through KBC.  She recently has been certified in TRX Sports Medicine and works with clients recovering from minor sport related injuries. Christine is CPR trained through American Red Cross. She is a graduate of Fordham University and received both a B.A. in Communications and an M.B.A. in Business.

This class is a perfect introduction for beginners, clients recovering from injuries and those looking to increase their flexibility in muscle groups and range of motion in large joint groups.  Strong focus will be on the hip, lower back, hamstring and shoulder areas. Participants will also be introduced to breath awareness exercises to help them get deeper into each stretch.  
 
Open and beneficial to all levels.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Dec 17 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Dec 21 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Dec 28 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Jan 04 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Jan 07 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Jan 11 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Jan 14 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Jan 18 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Jan 21 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Jan 25 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Jan 28 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Feb 01 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Feb 04 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Feb 08 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Feb 11 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Feb 15 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Mon Feb 18 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman
  • Fri Feb 22 11:00 am - 12:00 pm with Christine Beckelman